Building Gaming Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

DyNaStY336

In Runtime
Ok i have no experience what-so-ever building pc's but this summer i want to try to build one for gaming. i was never interested in gaming on a pc until a few weeks ago when i bought UT2004 and i cant stop playing it, now i want far-cry, doom 3, half life 2, splinter cell PT, and theif Shadows but the problem with my HP a240n is I cannot play many of those games. Now my questions are would it be better (or even possible) to get the nvidia 6800 ultra, and SK8N MOBO, and an amd fx-53 processor and put those into my current computer and upgrade to 1-2 GB of ram, or to build a new system starting out with the few things i just named. If building a new system would be less of a hassle and a better idea then please point me in the right direction as to if any of the components i mentioned above are bad ideas. If they are ok then what other things do I need to get to complete the system, suggestions on brand and model would be great. I have a general idea of what you need to complete a system but im sure im probably forgeting something. my budget will probably be around the 2,500 range. thanks for anyone's help who replies to this post. I tryed posting in the pc gaming section but not to many replies.