OCd X24200+

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ekustix

Baseband Member
I just got into overclocking, and as a complete beginner, I've currently got my AMD X2 4200+ 2.2GHz OCd to 2.42GHz.

I've got my FSB speed at 220MHz and my multiplyer at 11. The CPU is at 1.500v. It idles at about 36c, and I just checked it while playing Call of Duty 2 at the highest settings and it was hovering around 50c. Are these safe settings to be running right now? I haven't touched the RAM or the VGA yet, as I'm still not quite sure how to tweak them.

Also, my BIOS will not let me raise the CPU voltage past 1.675. I'm assuming this is a kind of safety feature, but would I have to raise it any higher than 1.675?

Again, I am completely new to OCing, but I'm doing my best to get into by reading tutorials and articles online etc..

1.7vcore can fry the memory controller so that yes I suppose it is a safety precaution. Assuming you have not touched the RAM, you have to put it on a divider so that it doesn't interfere with stability. 1.5 for a 200MHz increase seems ridiculous

although those temps are pretty good
as long as there accurate
also how satble is it running at those speeds and voltages

What is the best way for testing stability? I'm also fairly certain the temperature readings are accurate, becuase I'm running CPU temp monitor software that came with my mobo (Asus A8N-SLI), and I have a monitor on the CPU heatsink which is displayed on the front of the case. The two temperatures are fairly consistant.

Also, gaara, again I am a very beginner, so I am not sure what you mean by putting the RAM on a divider.

Thanks guys.

EDIT: I realized in my first post I said my 4200+ came clocked at 2.0GHz, it was originally 2.2GHz. Not sure how I made that mistake...

One of the best ways of testing for stability is to use a program called Prime95, all you need to do is download it

open it up ---> click on options ---> torture test ---> then click ok / go