Help! Why computer retailers do not include a backup of all software on new computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

daniella090

Beta member
Hi

I am Daniela and I am a student at GMC. I have to take a computer class and I have to write a Term Paper. This is the subject:

Explain why computer retailers do not include a back-up of all software on a new computer.

can someone give me a few ideas? and what kind of software are they talking about?

Thank you for your help

often times its software companies that are partnered with or support the company that is selling the computer and will put software on the hard drive when you first get it so that you will buy from them later EX: dell, when you first get a dell system it has tons of software on the drive and the only way you can get rid of it is to format now in my opinion the reason they dont include the cd with the software is because they dont really want it on their drives eather but they get payed for advertising the product. however some main programs on the dell like myDVD, SONIC burning utilitie, ect. they often send a cd like that to you.

Hello,

You mean like pre-installed software (like factory installed Windows XP) where the manufacturer don't provide you with a Windows XP installation CD?

Firstly I think the question that has been set is flawed, because it implies that all computer retailers don't include backups of installed software on a backup medium.

Most laptop and PC manufacturers do provide CDs containing software backups for end users in the form of OEM CD-ROMS or as a recovery CD, and if they don't, then most of the manufacturers provide a feature within the OS which allows the end user to create a set of backup / recovery CDs to restore the system to a factory state.