System bootage problems...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JPI

Baseband Member
Yup, i'm posting... and registered, and i'm a newb here... must mean i've blown my pc :rolleyes:
Right, for about a month now, my computer has had some problems starting up, as in, no power indicated when i whacked on the power switch.
Sometimes the switch would power up the CPU and fan for a split second and then cut out. Much like a crap car.
Somehow, i discovered my USB and LAN slots for the motherboard (ASUS A7N266-VM), were swewing it around, and i had to remove them sometimes in order to power up after the computer had been off for a while (over a few hours).
Now, it did the crap car fan start a few times and has finally conked out on me, it wont power up at all even with just the power lead connected. I opened her up, the motherboard light it on, and it all seems to be working fine.
Is there any checks i can perform to see what the probem is? Or how i can figure out the source of the problem???

Hardware isn't my forte with computers, so any help is much apprechiated.

Many thanks,

- James

Sorry if this is a newb post, any more info you'd think you will need ask for it :)

nitestick said:
normal causes are either:
a) overheating
Would would that damage? How would you overcome it? How would you know what was damaged?
nitestick said:
b) power issue i.e. damaged psu or switch, perhaps a power connector is loose which is often the P4 pin connector
Tested "push to make" power switch conncetion, working fine.
The P4 pin, isn't that for an intel chip? (I googled it) I have a 24 pin to the motherboard, motherboard light is on, so I don't feel that it needs testing...
nitestick said:
c)hardware failure
What exactly does that entail, and how would I overcome it.

Many thanks,

- James