wee bit o' help

Status
Not open for further replies.

werdna35

In Runtime
OK, let me start off by saying, I am not good with computers in the least, however, I have some questions and all that. I want to get some better stuff for my school laptop. So, I guess I'll just list my questions here...

1) I see everyone has these stats of their computers, I know the size of my hard drive and that kind of stuff, but how do I find out like what kind of video card and motherboard or anything else not easily listed is in my computer?
2) I kind of just started playing games and stuff like that. I can play some games like Call of Duty without any problems, but others, like Half-Life 2 won't work, so I want to get a new video card, or whatever else I may need to make my computer be able to run games. What kind of video card, and other upgrades would you all recommend for a laptop? Would I need to get a new fan, too? Would you recommend that I get an external hard drive?
3)I kind of want to be able to run two monitors with one mouse and keyboard. How does that work precisely?
4)Are all these questions elsewhere and I just completely missed them? If so, I'm sorry. I did read, however maybe not as thoroughly as I should have. Thanks!

2) You can't upgrade laptops beyond adding ram and changing the harddrive if you're lucky.

4) There is a search feature, I'm sure these are somewhere but yeah.

Not neccesarily true. I remember alienware has that option that you can upgrade video cards. But doubtful in his case he has a laptop like that.

You can upgrade ram and hd though for sure.

Yeah I mean there are some crazy laptops out there with exchangable video cards, but in general laptops don't have that capability.

To answer number one, you could download Everest Home Edition, and run it. It will tell you all you need to know about your computer.