Beware

Status
Not open for further replies.

Immaculate

Solid State Member
I have just phoned microsoft to see if its possible to get a replacement windows cd only to be told i am running an illegal copy because the store i bought it from should have sold my copy of windows with a computer. I am not very good with pc's and i genuinely thought i was buying a legal copy. I am furious now and i am gonna report this store to microsoft for piracy. I won't be able to update my pc anymore, let alone reinstall it with the image file i have. It's annoying when i paid £80 for an illegal copy of windows, what a waste of money that was. Unfortunately I dont have the receipt anymore cos i would go to trading standards or something with it.

One extremely annoyed member :(

So everyone beware of what you buy, make sure it is a legal copy when you buy any software!!!

I bought the cd from a store, it is a genuine windows cd but microsoft said that it is illegal to sell an oem version with out hardware so there fore it was illegal to sell it to me on its own. Microsoft told me that i would not be able to update or reinstall using that serial number but its ok cos i have a legal retail version now.

Microsoft is f*cking retarded, of course stores would sell the OS's without the hardware, how else do you think people would be able to upgrade their current windows OS to the new Vista that's being released.

They don't expect people to buy a whole new computer to experience that.

What kind of people have you been talking to on customer service, don't report the store, just give microsoft an attitude.