Help with new WoW system

Status
Not open for further replies.

jemorgan85

Beta member
Hello everyone,

I am just now jumping on the WoW bandwagon and I am looking for some help before I purchase my new PC about what would run well and what wouldn't.
I plan on purchasing it this week.

Right now, I am set on the Ibuypower.com Gamer FX, which I changed some things around:

Athlon64-3800+
1024 MB Corsair XMS with heat spreader (RAM)
XMX GeForce 7600GT 256MB
Coolermaster case/ 420W supply
Sound Blaster X-Fi card/ Logitech 5.1 Surround set
eVGA nForce SLI board (Dual DDR, PCI)
Liquid Cooling
300gb Hard Drive (16M Cache 7200RPM)
Saitek Eclipse keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
19" Viewsonic gaming LCD Flatpanel (2ms)

I am no expert on computers by any means, but I just want to know if this would be a good choice or whether I should look into the similar Pentium system, which pretty much the same specs and cards. I'm looking to have very little slowdown and great graphics.

I also would like to know how much a PPU actually affects the graphics on WoW, if anybody is currently using one.

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Jon

OK So first off you would want a dual core, thats for sure.

The video card is ok if you'r not planning to go for the ultra highest resolutions on highest settings, if you do, get an ati x1800xt or if you can affored ---- x1900xt. the AA/AF on those looks x10 times better and they are just generaly are better...

Good screen, good HDD [get either the seagate barracuda or the w.d. caviar both are good].

Mobo, AM2? with 2GB of DDR2 [for future upgradability both AM2 and DDR2 are best for AMD, although for now they dont exactly shine on benchmarks], if you can affored 800mhz if not 667mhz @ 4cas latencies.

Liquid cooling, a custom one, purchase it at www.petrastechshop.com <<Best place for you tobuy those.