Post Your Pretty Wire Management

Status
Not open for further replies.
If it was true then all these roms ppl are buying and their companies should be sued for false advertising. A CD/DVD will shatter at anything faster than 52X. Thats why CD-ROM/CD-RW read speeds stopped at 52x. I believe burning dosent go any faster than 32x though, but i could be wrong.

The fastest is 54x. And no, the CD will not shatter, as proved by mythbusters. It will only shatter if it is broken or cracked to start with.

john3 said:
yo turobFX, if u dont mind, can u explain to me how its faster? i mean. im studying A+ right now, and apparently those read/write/re-write times, are....well potential, and that the maximum is 16x, anything faster the CD will get f'd up. is this true? or is there a way around this?

WELL, a dvd is 16x, and a cd is 48x as for my plextors.

in real life 16x dvd writing speeds is 21.13 MB/sec, now that might sound like not that much but you also got to take into account that all that data goes through buffers. now have a higher read/write burst speed that inturn allows the computer to put data through faster then it can write, just incase it has to slow down or speed up, and to allow it to compensate for any reason, that is why when reading and writing to disk alot of drives will go up and down in speeds during, now since sata 150 has a proposed 150MB/s this allows the buffer to get filled faster and kept filled stabler.

in the end you can only write a dvd at 16x, but the trick is to keep the burner going at 16x with different type of data being thrown at it, so faster is better, mainly with all the different file types that go into making a dvd.

but you also have to take into account that sata is better since the controler can send and recieve data through its single channel unlike ide or scsi which if you have a hdd or another opticle device on that cable it slows it down since it has to comunicate with all the other devices on that cable.

CrazeD said: