New Conroe build-HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

grogthegreat

Baseband Member
Hi,
While I am an almost newb at building computers, I have been floating arounf these forums for a while now so I have some idea of what I am looking for. Here is the important stuff: I have about $1500, maybe a little more if it makes a big difference, I will be overclocking for the first time, and I will be gaming on it for the next four years w/ as little upgrades as possible, and finally I will need just about everything. Here is what I am thinking so far;

conroe E6600
2 gigs of ram: I will be overclocking but can't go crazy here
I would rather go nvidia for the video card but don't know which ones are worth the extra money (so many different venders)
I need help picking a monitor. Definatly a CRT as they have better resolutions for less money but which one?
As for a HD, I don't think I will need massive amounts of space but would like at least one w/ 7200 rpm.
The mother board is the hardest as many aren't out yet. Needs to be able to overclock the cpu and support more than 2 gigs of ram as I will most likey need to add more in 3 years.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Grog

If you are going to be gaming on this for 4 years, you should probably wait for a little bit. DirectX 10 cards will be here later this year (Nvidia's will be here Sept. and ATI's will be here Nov.) If you can't wait, I recommend getting the evga 7900GT KO.

Same thing with Conroe mobos. Wait it out. There will be plenty of mobos out later this month.

Hard drive, I recommend getting Wester Digital. You can't go wrong with a SATA or SATA-II drive with 16mb cache.

Since you are overclocking, get G.Skill RAM.