L101010101010101...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnM

Solid State Member
This problem has probably been addressed on this forum a zillion times, but I'm a newbie here...

I need help.

I broke my MBR and cannot seem to fix it. My principal HD is a RAID 0 configuration, which is normally my boot disk (2 ATA SG Barracuda 80’s). It is also where my WinXP is installed. (Single OS on this disk). I installed SuSE 8.2 on a separate HD, and setup a dual boot with LILO. For some reason known only by GOD I chose to manipulate the MBR. “Why would you do that?” Good question. Anyway, needless to say, XP is unbootable. (I get the L101010101010101010101010…)
IÂ’ve tried everything to recover the MBR, but cannot. I boot with the XP disk, (config my raid drivers via F6) go to recover, try every tool available, nothing. Fixmbr and Bootfix run OK, but I always end up at the 101010101010 screen. There is no reference to Linux or LILO in my boot.ini file. Everything seems in order, but every time I try to open XP, 101010101010Â…
Someone – anyone – please help me fix my MBR!

problem is fixmbr doesn't fix anything from bios bootstrap, it just the fluff after it. not sure what you mean by 'manipulate', what did you do? sounds like linux kernal problem. maybe HD controller error?

I don't think the problem is on the Linux side - it boots up fine. What I mean by manipulate is that during the Linux installation, it gave me the option to write new boot configuration to the MBR, which I opted to do. Found out that this is not a good idea.