Will this work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

turboturtle

Beta member
Hi, Im a newbie to this site and Im going about builing my own computer. I was hoping you could tell me whether the components Ive selected will work together? I dont want a super-fast gaming machine, but I still want it to be good enough that I won't have to upgrade it too soon (My PC right now is a 500mhz Pentium Celeron, 20gb hdd, 256mb ram etc...).

Motherboard = Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Processor = AMD Athlon 2600+
Case = Quartz Silver Black case
Hard Drive = 160GB Maxtor DMax+9 SATA150/7200 8MB
Memory = Kingmax "Turbo" 512Mb 3500 Fast DDR
Monitor = 17" Iiyama VisionMaster 1403
Keyboard & Mouse = Wireless Keyboard & Wireless Optical Mouse PS/2
Graphics Card = ATI Radeon 9200 128MB DDR AGP
Floppy Drive = Internal 7-in-1 media drive
Speakers = Apollo 2.1 System, 600W

I chose pretty much all of them from dabs.co.uk. aria.co.uk or amazon.co.uk.

Thanks a lot :D

Nice start, but I doubt your mobo will support upto PC3500:confused: I'd imagine it will only support DDR333, in which case you'll be able to save abit of money and probably get a better video card;) How much are you looking at spending for that RAM and Radeon 9200?:confused:

The mobo can handle DDR 400 (PC3200) ....

N' i also think that u should really conisder a different AGP card ...atleast a 9600 radeon or 5600fx

Thanks guys. Ive got a budget of between £500-£600 and what ive posted is about the right money... The memory is £62.28 and the Graphics card is £39.95. I can afford to go a bit lower/higher on these but not by too much! :beard:

Do any of you know where I can get cheaper prices on any of these things, bearing in mind Im in the UK (Im not sure where most of you are from...:eek: )?

Thanks again

You can get 400mhz and not the Turbo one because the thing really changes performance in memory is how much not which speed and than get a better video card