can anyone give me good tips on how to build a computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

anthonyg

Solid State Member
same as topic. i need good websites to help me step by step. im a newb at this but im a very quick learner.

Dont fry anything.

I think your gonna have to be a little less broad.

I posted the same question a while back.........Search in the "Overclocking, Building and Case Mods" forum.

dont use mini cases they are a pain i the arse if you have a lot of stuff to get in, i should know, i thought, hey this looks kool, and then i had problems getting everything in, so DONT BUY MINI CASES

Stay away from Soyo mobo's. I've nothing but headaches trying to fire up their boards.

Soyo boards are the best athlon boards out there, chances are, he is new to computers and didnt want to take the time to configure it and work out the kinks of his new computer. Which happens for a few days after every new computer you build.

i already bought my stuff. i have a p4 2.4, 60gb hd, 512 ddr ram pc2100, gforce4 64mb mx440, 350 watt atx case, and lighting for the case. please reply i need good pictures on what to do step by step. my uncle said its real easy. i have a ecs p4vxasd2.

i just built a athlon 2100 with a asus a7v8x mobo, 512 MB of kingston PC3200 ram and a radeon 8500 (i'll upgrade to the radeon 9700 pro if it ever gets cheaper)

I highly recommend going athlon the VIA KT400 chipset , or you can try the nForce chipset but i really dont like that one personaly..

if i were you i'd stear clear of "gigabyte" and "ECS" motherboards, i know so many people who had problems with those, abits are good but in benchmarks they dont compare to the ASUS mobo's with the same chipsets (how very odd..lol)

DONT GET A JANKY POWER SUPPLY OR SALVAGE AN OLD ONE!!!!