building a great gaming computer!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hatefury

Beta member
hey guys, i guess im a newb to this forums. i was wondering if anyone knew what would be needed to make really good gaming computer that can play games like battlefield 2, cs source, world of warcraft, call of duty 2, oblivion, and games like that. im running on a 1.2ghz processor 512 ram and a ati 9250 256mb agp. its pretty slow though and its ****ing me off because i've never really had a great computer. now i guess its time to change that, what kind of processors/graphics cards and other things would you recomend? also im looking to spend less than 500 at least, im just trying to build a great computer or add it to this one right now. thanks guys!

-tom

Edit: When I first wrote this post, I assumed you meant you had a P4 when you said "1.2GHz CPU". But then I realized this could be the clock speed of a more recent AMD processor. Trotter makes a good suggestion-- identify the socket of your motherboard. Perhaps you can upgrade, in contrast to what I originally posted. I'm thinking 754 at best, though-- and you won't find one of those processors brand new unless it's from a liquidation store.

I'm no expert, but I think you'll find that the general consensus is that these are the picks for a cost-conscious gaming machine right now:

- AMD Athlon 64 3700+ ($230)
- Nvidia 7600-series videocard (starts @ $110, $170 for the GT version of the card)
- Asus A8N-series motherboard (starts @ $60)

The processor you could go as low on as a 3000+ (only $110), but it won't have the longevity of the 3700+. I guess it's a value call, and one that the forum experts can make better than I. All depends on how much money you have to spend.