building

Status
Not open for further replies.

harley88

Baseband Member
mourning folks

i have been trying to get the parts together to build pc, well i
have been working on it for over a month now, and have picked out three parts, i dont know if i am to old for this stuff or just to
dadburn dumb.

well anyway i am new at this computer stuff.
i am going to run this by you all, and hope that someone will see if these things will work with each other:

processer: Intel Pentium 4, 3.4Ghz, 800MHz FSB, socket 478

Motherboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe

XS-Alien, Aluminum Windowed ATX Tower Case with 500w PSU

Newegg does not have this case, would someone suggest a case
that would be better, and i need a suggestion on what memory would go good with this.

thanks much
Harley88

na not 1 gig. Bacisally, no program out there now needs a gig of memory for it to run. Program/game that is. I think 512 would be good. But i mean hey if ur gonna be running multiple programs or games at once then i would go with the gig. But as for the case, the Thermaltake Xaser III is really nice. Go to thermaltake.com for specs of it. Newegg has it too.

thanks

hello

want to thank Elbatrop 1,Himura Kenshin, and Monster00 for the input.

now i am looking for cd-rom, cd-rw, floppy drive and hard drive
any ideas to the best brand to get?

thanks again
harley88

well u can get any cd drive, cdrw, and floppy drive. There all the same just get the right speed Cd and cdrw drive u want. U can actully get them both in 1 drive if u want. I would get a western digital HD.

if you're gonna get a high end system like yours, you might as well get 2 74Gb 10,000 RPM Western Digital Raptor S-ATA Drives

I'm guessing you'll use this for gaming a bit, so if it's in your budget, pick up a radeon 9800 xt graphics card

as for optical drives (cd-rw) LG and Plextor are good, but any brand will do