Need a system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pwnz0r

Baseband Member
basically, im getting an amd dual core 3800+, 2gb ram, 7600GT, and wa la a games machine, this all gonna b 4 under £550, prob bout $850 ish i think. so any1 sort me out with specs for the parts in the tower? e.g. case MOBO, which RAM, PSU, that sorta stuff. im not an expert but i can choose my peripherals myself. any help, experience be it good or bad, and advice is welcome,

MSN: phil_817@hotmail.co.uk
Xfire: iceryno
OR: reply here!!!!!

P.S. peripherals not included in £550 price tag as i say i need help with the heart of the machine.

well boards from DFI and MSI would probably serve you well. the DFI Lanparty Ultra-D is always a good place to start or you can get the higher models if they suit your tastes better. for psu i always reccomend Antec, the TruePower 2.0 series would be suitable. probably should get a bare minimum of 480w these days. most people here will probably reccomend you a 550w or higher

DFI motherboards are always top quality but you pay the price, usually worth it however.
OCZ Gold or CorsairXMS2 are the only memory out there that I'd feel safe with, but there are some other good manufacturers.
Don't just go for the highest PSU you can get at the cheapest price, I'd say get atleast a 500W if not a 600W so that you don't have to upgrade as your system gets more powerful - and definately don't go cheap on PSUs or you could just end up replacing it, or worse damage your motherboard.

I don't really necessairly agree with the 600W requirement. Not everyone is going to be using super-powerful state-of-the-art graphics cards and 6 hard drives at once. Go look at a wattage calculator. You can actually get a pretty decent system that uses less than 350 watts.
Just keep in mind not all PSU's have as high of a wattage they say they do. I'm willing to bet yours won't need any more than a 450W.