Newbie Needing Advice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dans

Beta member
Hi there... Looks like a friendly place around here so I figured i'd try getting some advice...

I've been using a 2Ghz P4 with 512MB ram and crap video card for around four years now. I'm convinced that i've outgrown this thing and it's now causing me a fair bit of trouble. I'm looking to get a new high end computer in the next 3-8 months but have no idea where to start.

I'm looking for some advice on what to get and how to get it. I have very little computer building experience and wouldn't know where to start on what's compatible with what, moreover, I am very much out of the loop in terms of what things are like performance wise. I am considering purchasing rather than building, unless convinced otherwise.

I'd like to use the new computer for the following:
- Windows Media Center use
- Digital video recording (I already own a capture card, so that's not required)
- Heavy use of multiple applications (my current computer becomes very slow very fast and I need a computer that can keep up)
- Ability to last for long periods of time without rebooting (Due to the nature of my current computer use, I may have it on for a few days at a time without a reboot)
- Very good for gaming (not necessarily top of the range, but good enough to cope with all the "next-gen" games that are coming out and requiring all the better video cards)
- Photoshop/Video converting (my current computer, as you could imagine finds it very hard to work efficiently when it comes to the more demanding tasks)
- Something that I won't have to replace for a few years at least
- I suppose I use my computer for everything, so keep that in mind :)

I'm not completely sure about my budget at this stage, im still only trying to find out what kinds of hardware i'll need. By looking around, I suppose somewhere between "moderate" and "expensive", but more to the moderate side of course ;)