raise fps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lopsided99

Beta member
im having trouble gaming.... fps is low and i think it should be way better. i kno some about computers, i mean i build them and i always over clock stuff but maybe im missing something here. i am new at it and id like to see if someone can help me please. here are my specs...

amd 64 3000+ clocked at 2.4 ghz (fsb @ 240)
1gb pc3200 ram
256 radeon saphire x800gt agp
socket 754 asus mobo 1600 fsb
160gb western digital hd 7200rpm
ultra 500W power supply

i want to know if any of you can help me out, id like some tips, none of which involve buying better hardware please. thank you so much. oh btw, my fps for oblivion is like 25-35 in buildings, and outside is like 35-60 max. for cod 2 it usually stays at like 30-50. idk y its so low, i have my vid card clocked at 554 for core and 584 for memory. PLEASE IM DESPERATE FOR FPS!!! thank you

-derek

what settings do you play oblivion on?....on full seeting with a 7900gtx you cant expect more that about 40fps out side, other than that, but if you have already lowered settings, then makes sure you clocse everything before starting it up

I'm guessing the X800 is the problem for Oblivion. Try 800x600 and see if it improves. But also remember that the brain only "sees" 24fps (that's why movies are filmed at that rate). So if you are getting say 30-35fps and don't have a major lag or jerkiness your good to go.

OK so kind of off topic but the "raise fps" reminded me.

My friend who thinks he's such a pc wiz told me the other day that the FPS's are "adjustable"...He said you just change the screen resolution, as if that didn't make it look like **** lmao. He has no idea that games are coming out that are toooo advanced for most systems, yet he claims to be a "sick gamer" hahhaahha