GUIDE: How to buy/what to look for when buying a computer or new part.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Updated Section Six

I still need a sound card section... iff someone would like to do that, feel free too

That's a very handy little guide you've written there. I'm sure many people will learn a lot from it, including myself.

Thank you for putting in the time and effort Static, great stuff!

PS: Just thought you'd like to know, my website provides similar information as your guide. And the funny thing is, my video card section needs updating too :)

hi. just a newbie here..

this thread rocks.. :)

by the mean time, ill just browse thread more so as to know how to build my new rig. it will be my first time. :)

Static_11 said:
you have any questions feel free to ask... my contact info is in my profile.

thanks... ill PM you as soon as i finish choosing the parts.. :D i hope i wont bother you if i do so. :)

i was a little bored so i got this, most of the stuff i just copy-n'-paste, you can add whatever you want, it is just a start

Sound cards are usually not a necessity for a regular home computer, and are usually used to get a more three-dimensional sound. Good cards also boost PC performance because they feature small processors of their own. Consumer sound cards range from $5 to $250. If you use your PC for games look at the sound cards in the $50 - $150 range. One of the more popular sound cards out there is the Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic Sound Card for $110 and a popular cheap one is the CHAINTECH AV-710 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card got 23.00. The price difference is just mostly just because the X-Fi includes a ton of stuff it can do:
X-Fi 24-bit Crystalizer™ X-Fi CMSS®-3D The Fastest Gaming Performance Ever EAX® ADVANCED HD™ 5.0 support The Latest Cinematic Technologies for the Ultimate PC Movie Experience! High-Quality, Feature-Rich Recording Dedicated Modes for Music & Movies, Gaming and Audio Creation