Opteron or X2

Status
Not open for further replies.

RIPDimebag

Beta member
Hey Guys,

Just wanted some feedback on my new rig before i buy it. I hear the Opteron is good for oc'ing, although i've never done it before. I'm debating over that or the X2 3800. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.

Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000SWA Silver All aluminum made Modern Dream Tower Chassis Computer Case - Retail

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

eVGA 256-P2-N515-AX Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-430 ATX12V 430W Power Supply - Retail

Patriot 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model PEP1G3200LL - Retail

AMD Opteron 165 Denmark 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model OSA165CDBOX - Retail

Overclocking really isn't all that difficult. Hence why I am going to suggest you get the Opteron 165. If I were going to get an X2, it would be either the 3800 or 4400.
You can always overclock the x2 3800... it comes down to whether you want to overclock and what size cache you want.

Also, if you run into problems overclocking, you can always go to the forums and ask for help.

Yep, Opteron.

Also, don't buy the 7800GT. Buy the 7900GT it's just about the same price with-in a few dollars. The 7900GT performs the same as the 7800GTX.

i agree with havoc on the 7800. if you are a new overclocker i would actually suggest the 3800+ because if you can't get the hang of overclocking you haven'[t paid for something that will perform less. i mean some people just don't get the hang of overclocking for some reason and if that is the case then you don't have to settle for lower performance. in any case the 3800+ still overclocks well. mine hits 2.6ghz and should be able to go a reasonable amount further.

nitestick said: