review this computer for me.

Status
Not open for further replies.

willotree

Solid State Member
This is the comp that I'm looking forward to buying, so comment it for me: the goods, bads, etc.

here

I know the athlons kill the pentium d's but how bad are the pentium d's? I assume they're not that bad at all are they?

Also, the power supply is a little low (looking to get the 7600gt a little later) so i'm looking at this PSU (click), not entirely sure if compatible, so is it?

Overall, what do you guys think about that system i posted above? worth the $$? I'm pretty much looking for a gaming system, does not have to be so high end tho, as any mid level of gaming performance is an improvement compared to the system i have now.

thanks for your inputs.

so with that $$'s worth i can customize a much better computer?

i'm quite new to the computer building process, i know some of the basics, but no idea how to set things up and what's compatible with what.

with a $$1200 budget, what do i get?

-mobo
-processor
-psu
-gfx card
-sound card?
-harddrive

what cables to get? what connects what together?

I could take apart all of the things on my current computer and replace with new things, but what else do i need?

instead of that dreamer fx i decided on my own athlon 64 x2 configuration and this is what i came to:

Case ( [New !!!] Tuniq Symmetry Gaming Tower Case w/420W Power Supply Black )
Case Lighting ( Neon Light Blue )
Power Supply ( Standard Case Power Supply )
Processor ( [939-pin] AMD® Athlon-64 X2 4200+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology )
Processor Cooling ( Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink + 2 Extra Color Lighting Case Fans )
Motherboard ( eVGA nForce-4 SLI Chipset Dual DDR w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, Dual PCI-E MB )
Memory ( 2048 MB [1024MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module Corsair-Value or Major Brand )
Video Card ( Nvidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB w/DVI + TV Out Video )
Hard Drive ( 250 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 8M Cache] )