Computer Malfunction- Please help me troubleshoot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Epicus

Solid State Member
Hello there for all of you guys reading this-- I have quite the problem on my hands. I've been building computers for a few years now and I've never had a problem like this before.
----------------------------------
Computer Specs:
PS: Alliance 450W Power Supply
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (Socket 939)
MB: ASUS A8V Deluxe (AGP8x) (Socket 939)
RAM: Corsair TWIN-X 2x512MB PC3200
GFX: GeForce 6200 256MB
HD1: Maxtor 7200RPM 120GB IDE (8mbit Cache)
HD2: Seagate 7200RPM 160GB IDE (8mbit Cache)
CD1: Lite-On 16x DVD/CD-rom
CD2: Plextor 42x/24/48 CD-R/RW
-----------------------------------
So as you can tell from the above specs, that even though I can't afford top of the line equipment, I have a pretty good gaming setup (aside from the video card:( ). Before I get to the problem, I must tell a story on how I began to build this computer, please bare with me, for it does sort of relate to the current assessment that can be done.

About 6 months ago my friend purchased the motherboard that I was using, and he also was using around the same specs that I have. After about 6 months he wanted to upgrade his video card and noticed that the best cards out there are no longer AGP8x and instead PCI-e, so he was forced to buy a new motherboard. He had absolutely no troubles with this motherboard, and I was the one who both built his computer and took it apart and swapped the motherboards. After he got his new one, he told me that I could have this motherboard for he had no more use of it, and he would only eBay it.

My computer at the time was on an ABIT NF7-S nForce2 mobo with AMD XP2500+ Barton. I had 2x256 Twin-X PC3200 in it. So I really thought this was a great opportunity upgrade my computer since I was low on money yet had enough for new memory and CPU.