Help me!

Status
Not open for further replies.

c_dfeedback

Baseband Member
I need to admit now that I am a bit of a noob, so please explain everything in morons terms for me. :D

Basiclly I have a fairly dated system (P4 2.4 ghz, 1 gig of RAM, Geforce 6200, Maxtor 80 gig) and desperatly need to upgrade. I'm sure you get this all the time, but where the **** do I start? I mean, from all sides I get people giving me 'Crossfire' this and 'Dual Core' that and I really have no idea what I want or need. I have been told that I need to wait until Vista comes out and brings with it a new wave of techonology, etc, but with the rumour mill at full spin over when they will actually get their act together and finish it, it could be any time.

When I first started considering an upgrade, I was thinking along the lines of getting a good quality power supply, a new PCI-Express motherboard and a nice graphics card. I intended (in the short-term at least) to carry over my RAM and drives. I mentioned this plan to a number of people just over a month ago and I got shot down in flames with claims of 'That's nowhere near good enough', etc. Some people even said I should be waiting until 2007!

I am massively confused and incoherent, please help me if you can! Should I shell out now or wait for this omnipresent 'new technology'?:confused:

k heres the things you need to tell us.

1) what are you using the computer for
2) what is ur budget

then we can help you.

john3 said:
k heres the things you need to tell us.

1) what are you using the computer for
2) what is ur budget

then we can help you.