first-time buyer, need desktop suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

germanfries

Beta member
hey, everyone!

okay, this is my first time buying a new computer and i could really use some suggestions as to what would suit my needs.

i think i've pretty much decided i'm going to go with monarch, so i've been playing around with customizing a desktop there. however, i'd like to be sure that what i'm getting is a good fit both performance/price wise and i don't really have the expertise to decide on my own.

budget: i'm looking to stay under $1500.

i tend to multitask, so maybe one of the amd 64 x2 processors?

definitely not looking for a gaming pc, but i want to be able to play the sims 2 on it. so, i'll need one of the geforce video cards that'll perform fairly well and not be insanely priced.

i'll be storing a good amount of photos, mp3's, and videos.

i don't really care about the sound card, just something to get basic sound will be fine.

no dvd-rom, just a cd-rom and cd-rw will suffice.

thanks in advance. your help is greatly appreciated. :)

if there's anything else you guys need to know, just ask.

alright well if you want to multitask its good to go with the x2. now graphics wise go with a 6600 gt. its cheap but could easly handle sims 2 and still a great card for any other games you might want to play. go with at least a gig of ram. that should be all good.

One question.. do you want to go for Intel or AMD? Thats a big diffrence, I can build you up a nice desktop PC for 1500$ that will run sims 2 and other games too.

yeah..........NO dont go with intel.
here is what you'll need

DFI Lanparty UT ULtra-D $120
AMD X2 3800+ about $320
BFG GeForce 6600 GT about $100
NEC 3550A about $30
Corsair XMS 2x1gb Dual Channel $160
WD Raptor 36GB system HD $100
WD Caviar 250GB storage HD about $120
a regular keyboard, about $20-30
Logitech MX 1000 about $60-70
Viewsonic VX922 19" 2ms $320

total of about $1400