Solid State Member
Here is my recipe (all put together):

Intel Desktop D945PVS
Ultra 550W Power Supply (sli ready)
Pentium D Processor
XFX 6600 GT ePCI video card
Western digital sata hard drive
IDE dvd r/w drive...etc

Here is the problem. PC boots powers up but I don't see any display on my sony flatscreen. I've tested the flatscreen on other pc's and it checks out. So I point my finger at the video card. I am very new to these cards. It seems to have a connector that needs to be fed to the PCI Express X1 connector? Is this true?

The fan is running on the GPU....green light on the monitor...no beeps...etc.

Try a different port on the video card. It may be something other than the Graphics card since their are no beeps indicating a failure.

Tried that...

I've tried both output ports on the video card. I did notice, just now, that the keyboard doesn't light up. I still have the green LED lit up on the mob, power supply is cranking...etc etc....fan on video card. Everything seems to be going. I've even gone as far as unplugging everything (including the box fans)...basically, the video card, hard drive and mob is the only thing getting powered. What are the ePCI 1x ports for? I have the video card plugged into a 16x slot..but noticed on the far edge of the video card an adapater for another plug of some sort. I'm feeling a bit dumb here :)

thanks for responding to my post :)

ThomasWest said:
Here is my recipe (all put together):
It seems to have a connector that needs to be fed to the PCI Express X1 connector?
no it doesnt , and pci-e 6600gt unlike the agp version have no power connector so theres no cable to connect to it, anyway 3 possible reasons
1) you didnt connect the 4pin plug to the motherboard
2) the motherboard is fried
3) the graphic card is fried
but 2 is much more common then 3 in these sorta cases , i suggest youll rma the motherboard if #1 isnt the reason