Overclocking monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

klein1jo

In Runtime
That's right. I have a 17" Samsung Syncmaster 750s. My max resolution is 1280x1024 at 60Hz. You can actually see the lines travel across the monitor. I have an ATI 9200 and it can refresh at 160Hz at 1280x1024. I went into the advanced settings in my display properties and overrode the stock setting of my monitor up to 85Hz. I want to go to 160Hz cause it's so quick, but I'm scared cause it says anything past the recommended could damage the hardware and a monitor is not on my list to buy right now. Should 85Hz be ok.

On a side note it's amazing how the faster Hz can actually increase the load time of programs. No lag, just pop. Perhaps some of the lag is caused by my monitor. I didn't really think about it, but I guess it's possible. Can't display as fast as my computer can produce.

On a side note it's amazing how the faster Hz can actually increase the load time of programs. No lag, just pop. Perhaps some of the lag is caused by my monitor. I didn't really think about it, but I guess it's possible.
No.......it's impossible for the computer to contribute to lag. A higher Hz definitely doesn't make programs load faster dude. Only things that contribute to that is CPU, system memory, and your HD in which case the 10k Raptors help load times.

nubius, i think he meant video lag.

guruscan that is not quite correct. it was originally thought that the human eye could only detect a maximum of 60-75fps. some tests done using high video frame rates with INDIVIDUAL frames placed intermittently of objects show signs that the human eye can detect single frames above 200fps as people were able to identify an object shown in one frame.

If he meant video lag, why would he say:

On a side note it's amazing how the faster Hz can actually increase the load time of programs.
load time of programs.....