Starting over -- My happiness 401k

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shinju

Beta member
My old rig was going under anyway, and I was going to update in a year or so. But, when I split with my boyfriend, he took his clothes, his shampoo, and my computer with him. So, it looks like I am going to be updating sooner rather than later.

I have an acrylic ATX case from a friend to use and I am trying to get a new mobo, processor, ram, and video card set up for $1000-1200 USD. Whatever I do is going to have to last me. I am kind of looking at this as an investment - my own personal happiness 401K. :D

So far I am thinking:
Mobo:Abit KN8 Ultra ATX.
CPU:AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800.
RAM:OCZ Performance 2GB DDR400

Searching around I have not heard much, pro or con about the motherboard. Any input would be great.

Also, I am an overclocking newbie ( I was just beginning to experiment with my old pc) But, I have been bitten by the bug. I read that the 3800 is the dual-core with the most headroom for overclocking, but I am not so sure on my RAM choice
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

For skt939 overclocking, the DFI LanParty series is the best for overclocking. It has tons of BIOS options that satisfy avid overclockers, as well as quality for stable overclocks. Among other things is the higher amount of vdimm that it can supply which usually helps to run your RAM at higher speeds at lower latencies.

People have been getting really nice overclocking results out of skt939 Opterons as well. Do a search on the forums and you will see tons of info on Opterons.

Do you do much gaming? If so, make sure you mention that to get recommendations on a vid card.

If you plan on OCing, then get an opteron 165 dual core processor. The're clock speeds can get very high, like from 1.8 to 2.8 Ghz. For the video card, i would get a 7900 gt. - charlie