DVD Burning Software and DVD CDs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr. tech

In Runtime
I've got about 4.4GB worth of AVI files which I want to burn onto a DVD. I want this DVD to play in a DVD player... I also want to have chapters... So when I press skip scene it will play the next AVI file on the DVD...

What software would I use to burn?
What type of DVD would I burn onto?
How big should the DVD CD be?

I'm pretty new with all this... Thanks for your input

Well i have done this with Nero 7 recently. I burned about 100 episodes that i had on my HDD.

I have menus that are animated with music. It has chapters. The whole shot.

So i would suggest Nero 7. I use Ultra Edition i dont know if it works with the others or not since i have Ultra.
I burned mine onto a DVD+R and it works just fine with my DVD players that i have tried it with.
I have gotten up to 13-30minute episodes on 1 disc. It did compress them a bit. But if you leave it at file size you will get about 5 or so 30minutes episodes on a disc.

You actually have to have some DVD Authoring software to compile the DVD and its needed files. The video files must be a format that is supported by DVD either MPEG-1 or MPEG-2. I usually convert all my videos that I wish to compile to MPEG-1 to make the DVD compileation go smoothly.

Once you have the prepped files I use a program called TMPGenc DVD Author that lets me build the chapters, menus, etc etc..very user friendly. Then when you done it creates the VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders with all the DVD video files you will need to burn the DVD and make it playable on a home DVD player. You can also use this program to burn the DVD or you can use another such as Nero.

Ineteresting Mak I didnt know Nero had this capability...I have to look at this now :) I to have Nero 7 Premium..not sure if this is higher or lower than Ultra?