Final review before purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.

josh87

Solid State Member
Alright. So after getting some more info and doing some more research these are the final specs of what i want to build. Please let me know what you think and if there are any additional things i need to get like thermal paste or tools or anything like that. This is my first build. Also, are there any good sites that have step by step instructions on building a comp. Preferably one with pics. Thanks alot!

Cpu: Athlon x2 4800+

MB: ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe Socket 939 ATI CrossFire Radeon XPRESS 3200 ATX AMD Motherboard

Case: Thermaltake Armor VA8000SWA Silver Aluminum ATX Full Tower

optical: NEC Black IDE 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Model ND-3550A

HD: Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150

RAM: OCZ Titanium 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System

PSU: ENERMAX Liberty ELT620AWT ATX12V 620W ( Is this good for the x1900xt? I cant tell if it has 30 amps on the 12volt rail please let me know and if it doesnt please suggest a 600+ watt PSU that does)

Video: SAPPHIRE 100149 Radeon X1900XT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - OEM ( is this one good or is there a better brand for this card??)

Sound card: I already have it at home
This computer will be used for music production/recording but i will also be playing games with it. Thank you again and please let me know.

Go with a DFI Lanparty or MSI K8n motherboard.

Not familiar with ATi branded cards as I use NVidia cards.

Other than that, looks good.

Good video card, go with Sapphire (Nvidia's version of eVGA) or ATI if you can't find any Sapphire's.

Nice CPU, although an Opteron 165 has better OC ability and is cheaper and could reach that speed for a whole lot less.