Need a Clear Answer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seeds225

Baseband Member
What is the best gaming setup I can build for $1,400? Thats all I'm looking for. I have no idea what to get though. Some help?

Ah you finally left the notebook idea, good choice. Waiting for the Intel 965 chipsets for Conroe or Socket AM2 might be a better idea since they're both happening this summer between June-July.

But if you badly want to build now we can help you out, although you may regret that you didn't wait later on.

It's up to you. $1400 rig threads

We can give you more specific ideas after you answer what I posted above.

Yeah I'm planning on building it in the summer. What are Intel 965 chipsets? and Socket AM2? Also, Were can I go to learn about acctually putting the computer together?
(I'm totally new to this, it will be my first build obviously)

That's cool :D

The best thing to do is read articles online to become familiar with the PC components, like be able to virtually build your computer in your mind and be able to pick out compatible components on Newegg.com without leaving anything out. Stuff like that. Building it is easy, and if you can't do it from the knowledge you've picked up here or from the websites by the summer, then pick up a book or two about building computers. But participating in the forum and reading the threads is a good way to learn too. Read what veteran members reccomend and why.

The Intel 965 chipset is the new chipset that will be on Intel's new motherboards that will support the new CPU, Conroe, which is turning out to be a great gaming CPU and may even beat some of AMD's offerings! Both of these won't be released until July at the earliest.