Need Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kg

Beta member
Hi all,

Just did a small upgrade to my pc:

XFX 7800GT 256MB Extreme Ed PCI-E @ Stock Speeds.

460W Jeantech powersupply.

I also flashed my bios.

Im quite new to upgrading and this is a major leap for me, but I uncovered a problem. When I play a 3D game such as unreal tournament 2004 or counterstrike source, my pc freezes and my cpu light stays lit. Sometimes the game will freeze for 15secs or it will completely go and restart. This comes after two hours of gaming. I really don't have a clue what could be causing this, I'd guess its concerned with the three upgrades above. :confused:

Can anyone help!?

Anything what-so-ever if much appreciated.

can you post your full system specs? what sort of cooling does your case have?

when you upgraded the graphics card did you uninstall the old graphics drivers before taking out the old card? also when putting in the PSU did you connect all of the power connectors? (two for the motherboard on most modern PCs, and the appropriabe power connector for the Graphics card?)

Thanks for the reply,

I uninstalled the old drivers and then reinstalled the latest drivers from nvidia.

Yes the PSU wires are all in the right place, I took one out at a time and inserted the new one. The connecter is also in the gfx card.

My pc has one 12cm Fan, the CPU fan, PSU fan and fan blowing through it from the outside (added this because I thought the temperature might be affecting it). I also took the side panel off. It doesn't seem to happen as much when the side panel is removed. When I put my hand near the PC conponents when the PC freezes, the air around is cool.

My system specs are:

AMD athlon 64 3500
OCZ Value RAM
Jeantech 460W PSU
XFX 7800GT 256MB Extreme Ed PCI-E @ Stock Speeds.
Standard case
Samsung 320GB HD
Unable to find make of MOBO.
DVD/RW Drive
DVD Drive