$1,000 budget... So many options... what to buy?! me = nub

Status
Not open for further replies.

OneArmedScissor

In Runtime
I've been browsing these forums for awhile, gaining knowledge here and there, etc. But my current computer is completely dead and I need to buy a new one. Firstly, my budget is $1,000.

Parts I have:
2 DVD-RW drives
200GB Hard drive
Audigy 2 7.1 ZS(?) sound card

Parts I need:
Processor
Motherboard
PSU
Case
RAM
Video Card
Windows XP (home or pro?)

My ideas thus far:
AMD X2 4200+
6800 GS
1GB RAM

and the rest of the stuff... Not sure on really at all. Granted, I'd like to have a nifty looking case, but it's not big deal if I got an ugly looking one. I've pretty much decided I want a dual processor. But I'd like some input from you guys.
This system would be for everyday use and lots of gaming. I'm a poor college student on a tight budget, so please try not to go over $1,000.
Thanks in advance!

PS- What do you guys think about IbuyPower and CyberPower?

Go for Newegg with anything u need.

CPU - due to your budget you may not be able to go for dual core. But if you can, get the Opteron 165. If not, then an AMD athlon 64 SD 3700+

RAM - get 2x512MB Corsair value select. for your budget.

Windows XP home is al you need. unless you want to do really advanced networking.

Duno wat case you should get.

A EVGA 6800GS is what you should get.

Flanker said:
Motherboard - MSI K8N Neo4-F - $80.

Processor - AMD Opteron 165 - $328.

Memory - Patriot Signature 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR400 - $151.

Videocard - eVGA GeForce 7800GT - $285

Case - XION cool-looking nice-quality case - $64.

PSU - Forton 450W - $50.

Operating System - Microsoft Windows XP Home - $100.

$1058 I believe.

I was really hoping to get a X2 procressor. Either a 4200+ or 4400+.
I don't plan on over clocking, and if i do, it won't be much at all... So I'd prefer to get value RAM.