Unable to install Zalman fan...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeffK91

In Runtime
Hi, I'm in the process of building my first computer and have installed the motherboard, video card, ram, and psu but am having SERIOUS trouble getting in this Zalman fan http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835118118

Let me start off by saying I know I'm not the smartest computer builder as this is my first build but I finally gave into building my own computer when I was convinced when people here have said it should be very easy. Well, I've been working on the computer for 9 hours, have not gotten very far, my back is absolutely killing me and am just filled with stress and anxiety over this. Anyways back to the fan, I got the backplate for the AMD64 and replaced it with the one that was already beneath the mobo so far so good but when I apply the thermal grease and put the fan on top, I should screw the bolts in to both sides. I try this with the 2 tiny ones that came with the fan and they would hardly touch the nipple as they were way too small so I took those off and applied bigger screws that I had and guess what? They got stuck on the nipple and they don't seem to be coming out as when I try to screw off the screw, the nipple turns with it, thus making it impossible for me to take it out.

I am to the point where I am almost ready to give up spite how far I've gone. If ANYONE can please leave any tips on how to apply this, it would be appreciated. This is quite an emergency and have already spent far too much time on this so a quick reply would be nice, thanks in advance...

OK, take a break and continue the PC tomorrow/later on tonight. You are not going to do anything constructive in that state of mind.