New Rig, New questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

smalltown

Beta member
My 4 yr old comp died and I've decided to build on my own instead of buying a 1800+ and new mobo to keep it running. I am a newb to building. I've been seaching the forums for the past few days but i'd appreciate a little time from you guys. Ive got about 2k and cant wait til summer to build. But I'd like to save as much as i can from that 2k for other compenents (speakers, keyboar, mouse) later if possible.

This is what I'm thinking about.

Windows XP Pro Sp2 $140

I don't need SLI or Crossfire but would like to have it as an option for the future.

Im thinking about getting an ASUS A8N-SLI Premium MOBO or a DFI Lanparty UT, but ive heard that DFI is not newb friendly. I'd like to hear would you guys have to say about OPTERON friendly mobo's since i think this is the best processor for the price right now.

Opteron 165 so i can over OC $330 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103588

2gb G.Skill DDR500, or should i get OCZ Gold or something for 40 bucks more? $200
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820231021

Prbly a Cooler Master Case $60-140 any other suggestions? Nothing too fancy i'll be in a dorm room in a few months.

2x Western Digital 250 Gb 16mb cache HDD $200
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822144701

But

Is this power supply efficient, does a name mean much with PSU?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817152022 $70

Do I need a Zalman VF-700 cu for a single graphics card? $30

How many extra case fans does one need?

I hate ribbon wires, what and how many round cables should i get for my hdd's and single dvd burner and do i need an SCSI card for dual hard drives or will mobo do?

Should I get a Zalman or Big Typhoon CPU air cooler. $50-60

So Far Pretty much 1200 bucks leaving 700-800 for single graphics card, mobo, and shipping.