PC crashing

Status
Not open for further replies.

lidigentri

Beta member
This is my first post here and I really hope someone can help figure out how to fix the problem I am experiencing with my PC.

I connected my LaCrosse weather station to my PC using a serial port to USB adaptor cable (weather station supplied serial/COM port cable). Installed the software (heavyweather.com) and the driver for the USB cable (BAFO BF-810). This should allow the weather station to sync with my PC.

Ok, so this works for about a minute, at best. It is populating the history.dat file while the application (heavyweather) is opened. Within 60 seconds, sometimes sooner, the PC spontaniously crashes and reboots. I have tried changing the COM port - no luck. I have reviewed the Event Logger but I am no expert to determine what the cause is. I contacted BAFO who supplied the cable to see if they had a newer driver to fix this problem but they do not. They suggested unchecking the power savings on the USB Route hub - did not fix the problem. I turned my firewall off - did not fix the problem.

I am at a loss - please help as I really want to use the weather station to its full potential.

System specs:

MODEL Sony PCV-RZ44G
OPERATING SYSTEM Microsoft® Windows® XP Media Center Edition
PROCESSOR Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 2.80C GHz† with Intel® Hyper-Threading Technology
CACHE MEMORY 512KB Integrated On-Die Level 2
FRONT SIDE BUS SPEED 800MHz
STANDARD RAM 512MB PC2700 333MHz DDR (expandable to 2.0GB)
HARD DRIVE3 160GB††3 7200rpm Ultra ATA/100 Hard D
VIDEO & GRAPHICS nVIDIA® GeForce™ FX5200 w/TV-Out128MB Video Memory (128-bit DDR) TV-Out / VGA-Out / DVI-Out (DVI Output:1280x1024x60Hz max.)
8X AGP 3D Graphics Hardware Acceleration
Giga PocketTM Engine MPEG2 Realtime
Encoder/Decoder board with TV Tuner
AUDIO Creative® Soundblaster® Audigy®

Thanks in advance!

Liliane

I do not beleive that you can sync without remote control software. Of course I could be wrong.