Multiplier Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ffmedic12

Baseband Member
I've noticed in my bios that my multiplier is locked at 12. What I want to try to do is max out my core OC. Right now I think, my limitation is when I get my ram close to 250(500) I don't get a boot. If I loosen my timings then I can push it above the 250(500) mark, but I don't want to loosen my timings right now. So my OC is maxed right now at 2.94 and 245 on the ram. But I've noticed when in my bios if I select it to go with "optimized settings" it changes my multiplier to 8 which lowers my clock. But couldn't I use that setting, change core, volts and everything else to try to get my core clock up and keep my ram speed below the 250(500) mark? Does that make sense? I now some bios you have the option to change the multiplier, but not mine.

I'm new to OCing, so I'm just experimenting so I can learn. I'm happy with the OC I have now (see sig), but I just want to see... I'm anal.

what is your CPU's max OC? or are you OCing cpu and ram at the same time?

loosening timings will not affect performance very much. in fact, the increase in bus speed improves performance more than loosening timings hurts it.

if your having stability problems (ie not booting, crashes, etc.) consider raising your CPU voltage a tad if its not too high already...

temps ok?

lowering your multiplier will not affect memory bus speed. you have to run a memory divider for that...but that can hurt performance on Intel platforms, iirc. in fact, if you lower your multiplier, you'll have to raise your FSB higher to reach the same CPU speed (280 for example)...and that will put your RAM at 280MHz...

O.k. Its all making sense now. I've been OC cpu and ram at the same time. My current OC is stable. I was just trying to push things a little and learn a few things while I'm at it.

hey as long as you're learning from it, it's a positive experience. oh yea, and your computer runs faster.