Virgin build, please check my list:

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oblivious

Solid State Member
I'd appreciate it if I could get some feedback & opinions on the components of my build. Keep in mind this is my first time building, so enlighten me on any little details I may overlook!
Just double check me for compatibility, quality parts and any possible changes I might want to make. If anything seems overpriced and there's a better alternative, by all means, bring it! If it all looks like it should work, lemme know that too!

I've been researching and looking at all this stuff for the past 6 weeks, and I think I've finally zeroed in on what I want. I've found that there is no end to the tweaking of a build list, and I keep spending just a little more for this, a little more for that! (no more upgrades! well... maybe... LOL)

And it's probably important to mention that this rig is mainly intended for gaming (obviously), but will be used for video encoding, and other mundane tasks. I don't have an actual budget, but I'm way over my intended $1800 already!

btw - I'm in the US, and all this stuff is from NewEgg.com, each with url links: (I included the UK equivalent prices for clarity)

$334 / £192 CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego 1GHz FSB 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor

$167 / £96 Motherboard:
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD

$224 / £129 RAM:
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Platinum (2-3-2-5 timing)

$314 / £180 Videocard:
eVGA 256-P2-N517-AX Geforce 7800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16
(considered the GTX, but the relatively small performance increase doesn't seem to justify the cost increase)

$68 / £39 Soundcard:
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS SB0350 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI

$268 / £154 Hard Drive:
Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150

$86 / £49 Speakers:
Creative Inspire P7800 90 Watts 7.1 Surround Speakers