How do I build my first computer? Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

GameFreak7645

Solid State Member
Hello,
I am a newb and I love video games on computers. I was wondering if any of you guys could give me some hints/ tips on what to do and what to buy. I have about $1,500 to spend. I worked my butt of to get it I am 15 so it required alot of work to that much money. I know the basics on a computer thats it. nothing great.

Also could you maybe recommend a book or web site that instructs how to build a computer. Thank you.

Welcome! There are many experienced people on this forum, I would bet you found a good place to ask questions.

Check out Newegg.com, I order a lot of parts from them and it is a great place to get good discounts.

Building a computer is like meccano, just put the parts in the place that it fits, putting force where it is required (inserting ram) and be very light when putting the CPU in.

$1500 is a nice chunk of money, so you will get some great parts in it, I will not say get this, but will give you a guide on what is good.

You want to spend the most money on the videocard, as this is where you get most of the performance gain, but not to skimp on other parts so the system isn't bottlenecked. The AMD X2 will fit nicely in that budget, and will ensure you have good performance in future games, but the M2 socket is due to be released soon, so wait for that.