New paint job

Status
Not open for further replies.

aye29

Daemon Poster
I'm considering giving my Inspiron 8600 a new color. Has anyone here painted their computer? I've never done anything like this before and I'm kind of unsire about where to begin. Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

Be patient. That is the best advice I can give you.

You need to know that this process (done PROPERLY) takes a few days. In the end youll end up with mirror finish.

A good guide can be found here. But the basics are:

-Sand (wet is prefered) the piece you want to paint. You dont need to expose metal, but you want a nice flush surface.

-Clean the piece with alcohol.

-Primer the piece then wetsand it to keep it flat. Repeat this process until you have done a few coats and it is VERY flat.

-Clean the piece with alcohol.

-Paint the piece with the color you want. Let it dry as long as possible (a few hours is what you want, overnight is great) then wetsand. Repeat this proces AS MANY TIMES AS YOU CAN. Paint, wetsand, paint, wetsand, paint, wetsand..... as long as you can bear it.

-Put one more coat on it and then wetsand in steps from 1000 to 2000 grit sandpaper.

-Polish with rubbing compound (as fine as you can find).

-If you feel confident in it, put a high gloss clearcoat on it. If not, thats okay but youll have to be careful near it. Be sure you wax it on occasion.

Wait, I'm a little lost.. is this your friggin computer or a '57 T-Bird?

Go to a hardware store, get a 5 dollar can of some jazzy looking spraypaint (they have metal flake ones that are pretty cool). Go to town with it on your computer. Try to cover it evenly, if not. Don't sweat it, cause it's just a COMPUTER : )

For someone that proudly advertises above average endowment below the waist, you sure know how to make the hunk of metal that sits next to your desk look awful purty :p

Total Immortal said:
Wait, I'm a little lost.. is this your friggin computer or a '57 T-Bird?