Win XP and Linux dual OS, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackmanOne

Baseband Member
Hey guys, I am a total noob when it comes to this, but I figured that this would be the best place to ask. I am getting a new computer, and want to fix some of my previous problems (namely a ton of adware and virus's (I know of ad-aware, but they always keep coming back), anyway, I am planning on using a partition to get both Win XP and Linux, I just have some questions.

1. Could I technically use Linux for web surfing, email, etc, and just switch back to Win XP at my whim (by rebooting I know), for my applications and games? I know of wineX, but its not 100% gaurentee, so I would like to keep XP.

2. Which is the most user friendly of FREE linux? I was looking at Suse, but I wasn't sure if that was free. Mandrake and RedHat 9 also look tempting.

3. Would surfing the net and opening email in linux effectively stop most virus's, as they are not for the linux os? Or would they jump right over to XP?

4. The computer will come loaded with XP, do I just install linux on top of that? I am assuming it would give me a choice to partition part of the hardrive for a second os? And I would think 20GB out of a 120GB hardrive would be enough, seeing as it will have no huge applications or games on it, so maybe I should go smaller?

Thanks in advance for all your help, I know I will get it in spades.

I was in the same situation as you. I had a 120 gig HD and i split it in half. I put Linux Fedora on one side and XP on the other. Most impressed with the way it turned out. I use my Linux for the surfing and various other stuff...i rarely go back to windows.

Go Linux Fedora - Its Free and its the place to be! see!?!

Is Fedora the new Red Hat Linux name?

As a side note, as this isn't important, but which of the linux looks the flashiest? I know that it's not important, but having a really killer looking OS is always nice to look at :)