Building a new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

keithster

Solid State Member
Hello, this is my first time posting for this site.
I have a small question that maybe someone can troubleshoot it through a forum rather than paying someone $60 to load WinXP on my computer. I believe that this problem shouldn't be all that hard to fix. I recently just bought all of my parts for my computer and I typically put it together like any other computer, but this situation may be a little bit different compare to most computers. I'll layout the specification of my computer.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813190002

I bought a cheap TUL mobo with a PCI Express x16. It has a built in ATX X200 video card. It doesn't have a port for your typical monitor, but already I have another videocard going into it which is a ATX X700. That's where my port for my monitor is going at this time. Everything else is plugged in regularly. Now my problem is that when I put my WinXP CD in, it runs it's windows setup screen for DOS. And after all of the configuration is setup at the beginning, the initial setup of the WinXP and the Hard Drive format, the screen will go blank and my computer will just sit there idling with no CD running or hard drive light flickering.

It sounds like something totally simple to do, I just can't figure it out. I can only think of two reason which is the two graphic card are conflicting or it looks like I don't have a compadable RAM, which I already compare it correctly. I have no clue. Can someone help. I really don't want to take it to Geek Squad at Best Buy.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that my power plug-in on my motherboard has 24 plugs when my power supply would only fit 20 of them missing 4 of those plugs. You think that could be the case?