Stupid Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewVincent

Baseband Member
I have a stupid question.

I see alot of talk about formatting hard drives. Exactly what is this?

What are the benefits? Also what do people mean by partitions?

As you can see I'm a newbie

NV

NewVincent said:
I have a stupid question.

I see alot of talk about formatting hard drives. Exactly what is this?

What are the benefits? Also what do people mean by partitions?

As you can see I'm a newbie

NV

It's not a stupid question.

Formatting your hard drive is basically removing everything from your computer, and putting what you had on it when you first bought it. For example, lets say you have a bunch of viruses you want to get rid of, you can format your hard drive so the computer the exactly the same way you bought it.

Not exactly....
Formatting it erases everything on it and recreates the file structure on it. If you format it you lose everything on it. You will only make you hard drive exactly the same way you bought it if you bought an empty one. You will have to reinstall windows on it.

Partitions are basically used to divide up your hard drive into several smaller "drives." I partitioned my drive into the C: drive and F: drive.

that sums up formatting, partitioning is splitting up one hard drive into two or more parts so that one drive acts as two or more drives.

Have you ever formatted a floppy disk? If you have, then it's no different then formatting a hard drive (except a few extra steps when formatting a harddrive). A DOS partition makes the drive "bootable". It allocates space to install windows or any other operating system.

EDIT: A regular partition, as mentioned above splits the drive into multiple logical drives. So it basically cuts it up in whatever sizes you want. So you can make two partitons on say an 80GB drive. Make one partiton of 40GB for linux (different operating system) and make the other 40GB for Windows. Or 60GB for linux and 20GB for windows.