Video Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arbitus

Baseband Member
I've decided that I want to build my next computer instead of buying a pre-built one so I'm going to need some help over the next for weeks/months (depends on how much money I have for that week haha)

Anyways, my first question is about the video card that I will be installing. I just can't decide what kind I want to get. It will be for a gaming computer so I know I want atleast 256 MB ram on it. But I've been comparing prices around ebay and best buy and came across this one. Click here (BestBuy.com) It seems to be pretty nice and at a very good price. I'm pretty new to indepth computer hardware so I'm not sure if there is something that I'm missing in that.

If I were to get this card, would it work on all motherboards with a PCI slot?

Thanks a lot everyone.

ok first of all can we have a rough budget, like an idea of how much you'll have?

ok i don't know much about ati cards but i guess this ones ok, someone who knows more about ATI can rate that.

it looks like this card will work with any mobo that has pci like you said, but if you have more money you'll probably want to buy a pci-e video card (future proof) and a mobo with pci-e. if you want a good pci-e card the nvidia geforce 6800gs is pretty good, and its only about $70 more than the ATI.

hope this helps.

go to newegg.com and shop around. the 9250 would be good for solitaire and older games but newer games would be nearly unplayable when you upgrade get a mobo with pci express x 16 and invest in a pci-e 16 video card

Alright thanks

So what other than the Ram on a video card determines if it would be a good gaming video card?

What do you mean by GPU?

What would be a good card for gaming in the price range of $100-$250

What suggestion do you have for the NVidia graphics card? I need something around $100-$250