Tech Career

Status
Not open for further replies.

NIN

In Runtime
I'm looking to get into IT. I'm currently a compter Operator and is going nowhere. We get no respect. I am moving, so a career change my be in the mix. Am I better off changing my career or hunting for another entry level job that I will have to fight a guy with a BS degree for. BTW, I only have an Associates in networking. My other love is cars. If I went to school for Automobiles I could have successful hobbies instead of my barely running mustang.

My point is the industry is flooded and I have a puny degree. My plan was to go to a university and get a BS or Masters in CS. I'm just afraid going to end up in some crappy help desk position. I've seen it happen several times.

What do you guys think.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

NIN said:
I'm looking to get into IT. I'm currently a compter Operator and is going nowhere. We get no respect. I am moving, so a career change my be in the mix. Am I better off changing my career or hunting for another entry level job that I will have to fight a guy with a BS degree for. BTW, I only have an Associates in networking. My other love is cars. If I went to school for Automobiles I could have successful hobbies instead of my barely running mustang.

My point is the industry is flooded and I have a puny degree. My plan was to go to a university and get a BS or Masters in CS. I'm just afraid going to end up in some crappy help desk position. I've seen it happen several times.

What do you guys think.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

Depends what your passion is. If it is computer science, go for the BS or masters. I am sure you will be able to find a job, I would not worry about it. Specially if you got a masters. I dont think you will be able to move up as you said with your current degree. So your options probally are going back to school and getting the degree if you really want to get a good job in the industry.