Loads of Questions and Buying Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

TicTac2

Baseband Member
Hi all, I am new to these forums.

At the moment I only have a laptop which is very faulty. It is not very portable either. Intend to sell it (depending on repairs e.t.c) which I reckon will leave me with about 1300 pounds ($2100) to spend on a computer system. I am in the UK

I intend to get a 14 inch laptop, but have not decided which yet. I am having more difficulty regarding how I should approach buying a desktop.

I am not sure whether I should build a computer totally buying all the motherboards and processors seperately (strongly moving away from this idea), buy the case fully fitted out with a hard drive and processor and buy the screen/keyboard/mouse seperately (strongly moving towards this idea), or buying it all in one bundle. I am still in school (15) and like ICT although obviously i am not very experienced at all in it, and am not sure whether I have the time of want to read how to build a system. I would love to knwo the answers to the following:

1)
I intend to spend around $1200 on a desktop. How much would building it with all the seperate parts save if, $1200 was for a already made system?

2)
I will use it for the following:

a) All things Office.
b) Quite a lot of photoediting in photoshop and digital photography related stuff.
c) Lots of Internet Browsing
d) Moderate Gaming (stuff like Tiger Woods 2005/6 if you've heard of it or maybe fifa and stuff. No Half Life 2 and Call of Duty 2 unless I develop a taste for these as I get older :p )
e) Quite a lot of Music Playing
f) DVD watching

I would normally have quite a lot open at the same time, but Photoshop would probably be my most intensive.

So how much do desktops that would do all the jobs above very well cost? From experience i think I would want the following:

Hard Drive over 160gb
DVD+-RW 16x
Good Speakers
NIce LCD screen (