what is the difference b/w all these mother boards???and CPUs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rawan AbuSalman

Daemon Poster
Im kind of new in this domain (building pcs and parts...)

I was taking a look at the intel website and while i was browsing their mother boards; i found that there are tens of boards but couldnt get the difference between them!

(intel 945...955........)

http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/motherboard/index.htm

what is the difference between them?

I was planning on purchasing a MB and a CPU....but im not quite familiar whith how the process goes;

the mb should be compatible with the CPU im planning on buying or what? and does a cpu work on a variaty of mbs or just 1?

when purchasing a cpu; what should i look for? (beside the freqeuncy....and what exactly is the frequency?? i know the higher it is, the faster is the PC...??

and what exactly is Hyper Threading (HT)??

thanx

a celeron is like a stripped down P4...

and to be compatable a processor and motherboard has to have the same socket type, and appropriate FSB...

frequency is how many clock cycles it makes in a set amount of time...

speaking of which, I'd recomend looking into AMD Processor and Motherboards, rather than intel...

sorry if I didn't answer all your questions, I'm not sure exactly what HT is... and I'd rather not go through each motherboard to see the differences...

thank you for your reply...

(i didnt mean to go through each mb; i didnt even open exept 2 or 3...) but they all seem the same to me;
for example;
http://www.intel.com/products/motherboard/d945psn/index.htm

and this
http://www.intel.com/products/motherboard/d955xcs/index.htm

(or any 2) the seem to be the same, more or less...so why the price difference?

and to be compata ble a processor and motherboard has to have the same socket type, and appropriate FSB...

sorry...didnt get that....what is socket type and what is FSB??