Cooling my CPU and Case in general

Status
Not open for further replies.

royalk4

In Runtime
So my case right now has spots for only 2 fans, and I have a coolermaster heatsink for my AMD 3700+ 754 cpu. I was looking for a way to cool down my system more without having to watercool. I want to OC both my CPU and GPU(6800 AGP). I've heard alot of talk about the zalmann 9500 but that isn't comp with 754. I've looked into PCi fans or Bay drive fans in a previous post but no one really commented on those as decent options.

Also are 80mm and 120mm fans interchangable?> I think my comp can only support 80mm fans.

OH... I plan on ordering artic 5 paste with the new fans/heatsink.

Also are 80mm and 120mm fans interchangable?

I think you can buy adapters to do that.

You have a PM about this so check that out.

AS5 is definately the way to go.

You could always add a blowhole and fan to the top of your case. Check around in the OC, Case Mod, Tweeking PC forum for details about how (it's easier than you might think).

you may want to think about buying the zalman VF-700 for your GPU, i have one and its mighty great, you can even buy mines :D

all depends on how much you want to cool it... if you only have a few bucks and aren't that concerned about it, just get a few fans. If your very concious about it, then i think, even though you dont want to, water cooling would be the way to go :(

Trotter thanks for the more detailed PM. I have heard about thermalright as being good also. is the difference from thermalright and zalmann more of a personal preference or does one perform better than another significantly.

The Zalman's outperform the ThermalTake's, but usually not by a whole lot. Both are good.

Zalman is known for being cool, and also for being quiet.