3 problems sound and video codec question

Status
Not open for further replies.

-RockMan-

Banned
About 4 weeks ago I had to reinstall XP pro with SP2 and this time I made sure my machine was not overwhelmed with 2 gigs of stuff in my documents which almost brought the whole PC to computer hell......

1. I have been using my Intel onboard sound card for the pass 3 years without any screws up I had accidently put the wrong version of Yamaha YXG50 trial on my machine and after I did this it said the trial had expired and said put in a registration number in there or go to music shop and buy one, thing is there is no store or shop that will sell this software down here in augusta !! now I had a full license copy of yamaha synthesizer that I got with a magazine 2 years go, the trial version refuses to leave or let me install the full version everytime I do this it says the system has detected the trial version in my current configuration files and can not delete it without this (YAMAHA uninstaller) II tried looking on google to find one but coudln't locate one without spam from advertisements from sites and some other stuff I rather not discuss here that might get me banned.

2.I have begin using my 3 year old SB 16 PCI card, it can't play sound right or midi and locks up the whole Mother ******* thing with corrupting one of windows xp driver or antivirus files..... I have tried updating this formally good Sound card with new drivers but I just don't hear any sound at all or locks when a windows sound is played can somebody please tell me if there is a issue with my SB 16 card with windows xp pro sp2 ?

3. Last question, which is better MPEG2 or MPEG4 codec and which one and version and brand do you recommend for recording digital TV movies to a 10.5 custom external HD kit ?

~MadMikeXP~

mpeg4 = smaller size
mpeg2 = better video, but way bigger file size too.

you take your pick. do you want better quality or small footprint?