Ethernet card trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt Houston

Beta member
Hi,

So I have a PCI ethernet card I have never used before, and a new motherboard with an onboard ethernet port, and neither seem to bne working.

In device manager they look fine, and in the system tray I see two little computers with red x's through them and when I hover the pointer is says "network cable unplugged" or something to that effect, which is quite strange as I have my new router plugged in. Also a light should go on on the router indicated which port is attached to the pc once the ethernet cable is inserted, but this does not happen.

And of course the router does not work.

Any ideas?

Did you install the motherboard drivers?
Make sure the ethernet cable is attached to the modem, in the proper conneccotr, I say this because you may have it connected to where the modem should connect, its unlikly but possible still. In control panel under network connections, make sure the incomming connectiopn enabled under properties. Also try connecting without router.

With router attached, try these commands through cmd

ping google.com

if it can ping a site then for some reason its not showing up as connected but actualy is connected.

also

ipconfig/all

ipconfig/release
ipconfig/renew

also, take the PCI ethernet card out and just use onbaord its faster, since its already connected to motherboard. It prolly doesn't help that you have it in.