new guy here, I have a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

chevytrucknut

In Runtime
Hi everybody,

I'm new here, and fairly new to building computers. I've never built one, but I have a guy who's trying to help me along the way.
I'm an engineering student, so my plan is to be running programs like CAD, Design programs, of course some GAMES, etc. etc. etc.

I know this is going to cost me a buttload, but what am I going to be needing? Here's what I think, now you tell me where I'm wrong and tell me what I actually need haha.

Socket 939 motherboard
Processor of around 3.0GHz
A great video card (not too familiar with those...)

Now: a few questions about those:

The processor - Here enlies the problem. I'm going with Athlon. Just a personal taste thing. And all I see is like 2.20 GHz or 2.40GHz. I never see a 3.0GHz for less than like $1000 bucks (I'm exaggerating, but they're a LOT). These new Dual Core (X2) processors, are they like 2 X 2.20 GHz? I don't understand a whole lot about that.

Lastly, (at least for now), if I'm looking for a M/B, what's up with this stuff with SATA and IDE and EIDE, or whatever? Does the m/b I buy have to match the drives I put in there, and vice versa, or will they all match?

Thanks a lot in advance,

CPU... X2 Teledo
Go with SATA harddrives, 99% of new mobos with support them.
not much else to say untill you narrow things down to actual choices and let us know what they are.

well ... for one you shouldn't be looking at ghz

AMD's flagship processor only has a clock speed of 2.8ghz

to hard for me to explain. i bet someone else will jump in here ... im hoping...

the top of the line video cards right now are the nvidia geforce 7800GTX and the ATI x1800xl

they will both be great for games and autocad..

I would get a pentium for what you are doing, as these CPU clock speed intensive programs (CAD) are suited better for penitums, but it will run fine on a AMD, and you will get better performance in the games.