Anybody build JUST to sell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I work about 50 hours a week and I am a full time college student, however I thought about having fun with something and possibly getting a bit of income on the side. Here at work there's a bulletin board and I figured I'd build a tower up one at a time and sell them for a little bit more than I paid to build it.

Just wondering if anybody else here does this... what I'm afraid of is getting stuck with a 2nd computer that I don't need because nobody will buy it, and essentially being "out" that money.

I thought about just selling as a backbone system too. No OS, maybe just the tower with the basic essentials, ram mobo cpu hdd proper cd drives power supply... etc.

Just wanting to see if anyone else here does this and what kind of success you folks have had.

The one stipulation is, I'd sell them as is, but I'd make sure they are working before I sell them of course. I'd just like to build it up, tack on a few extra bucks to the price, and sell. It's almost more for fun that income, but a few extra bucks won't work. After all, I have to pay for my dying Pontiac somehow! Its constant garage bills rack up.

Static_11 said:
Great idea IMHO. I'm thinking about doing the same exact thing :)

The only thing is, I'm really only familiar with the setup I've got. I wouldn't be able to build an intel setup at this point. I figure I'll just keep reading up on the forums and reproducing the setup I have maybe?

Hey, maybe I can tack on 50 bucks and include a kmart keyboard and mouse too. People may think a little more highly of it if ALL they need is a monitor.